Day 363 : awareness

363awareness

Sandy: Using my left hand has been like living in another person’s shoes which gave me a better understanding of the difficulties left-handers might face daily. Also I became aware of how tasks done normally and naturally with one hand is harder for the other, in part because it lacks strength or coordination and is unaccustomed to doing the task because it is taking the brain longer to process something that it thinks it knows how to do but is being asked to do it flopped or the opposite way. I expect my right hand to be better at everything but when styling my hair for instance, it seems to loose it’s dexterity. I had high expectations to master tasks quickly and easily but had to be more patient and not give up when I did things clumsily and not so perfectly. I think the right to left process is similar to a toddler or child who is developing their dexterity. The drawing is of me as a toddler (appears I favored my right hand at that age).

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

