Day 362 : knowledge

Sandy: I learned so much while doing research for this blog, not only from research studies on left-handedness but about artists, the 50 U.S. states, flowers, the brain, genes, architecture, past U.S. Presidents, furniture, new words, musical instruments, twins, knot tying, furoshiki, glass blowing, chocolate, cartoonists, writers, Hawaiian alphabet, athletes, and more. It was interesting to hear my friends’ perspective about being left-handed. When Kelly participated it was helpful to get her insight and see if she shared similar experiences using her less dominant hand.

One of my intentions was to exercise my brain. Coming up with subject matter, doing research, writing and forcing my left hand to draw what I see was a challenge.

My art could have been better. I regret not being able to spend more time with each rendering. I would have liked to use different mediums and paper but stuck to the decision of only using specific notebooks which limited us to a pretty small-sized image. It was difficult to create detailing, especially with the pastels.

Little did I know how much time would be required for a decent post each day. But I did it – set up and posted a blog for a year!

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

