Day 355 : X

355ten

Sandy: Ten is a number used to mark different things in a variety of ways. A 10 in Olympic gymnastics is the highest score given. If someone says you are a 10, it means they think you are perfect or hot (remember the Bo Derek movie). When children play Hide and Seek they count to ten before the seeker starts to look for the hiders. And adults count to 10 before their patience is up. If a list is created, it’s often – The top 10 Best or Worst something or other. In my case I am counting down the last ten days of primarily using my left hand instead of my right. It started out being very novel but quickly became a lot of work then eventually became part of what I do without thinking too much, now interchanging tasks with my right hand. I am comfortable eating with a fork, spoon or chopsticks, drawing, writing, cutting up food, brushing my teeth, applying cosmetics, brushing my hair, whisking, pouring, washing dishes, drying dishes, using the computer mouse. But cutting with shears or scissors remain a challenge. Of the nine in our house, I can only cut with two. One, with no finger holes, is made by Kuhn Rikon that can cut through chicken bones. The other one, really old but really sharp, is made my Marks. I only use them for cutting my fingernails and have gotten better control with my left hand over the last year.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

