Day 354 : sewing

354sewing

Sandy: Sewing is a lot like drawing. When artists begin with a blank piece of paper or a flat canvas, it doesn’t matter what tools are used – pencil, pastels, markers, paint – but eventually, an image appears. If you look at realistic art, it’s pretty amazing to see how colors and shading create contours that give the image dimension and shape. When sewing  fabric, again one starts with a blank “canvas” and as the fabric is manipulated – cut, gathered, stitched, eased – it takes shape. This afternoon I made a carrying bag out of fabric from Africa that I bought at a fundraiser. It took about two hours to cut out the shape and sew, including finishing it with seam binding. When I was done I thought how simple it is to turn a flat piece of fabric into just about anything. I pinned part of the fabric with my left hand and I’m afraid I left some scratch marks on the table surface. My right-handed shears are very sharp but I could not cut the fabric with my left hand; I couldn’t apply the right pressure. I did thread the needle and made tailor tacks with my left hand.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

