Day 352 : aixelsyd

352aixelsyd

Sandy: I am slightly dyslexic (self-diagnosed), particularly when it comes to giving directions. If I’m typing them I will say aloud, “Right” and point with my right hand but type the word “Left” which I don’t notice until I am proofreading, again pointing in the direction and saying the word aloud. If I’m a passenger in a car giving directions to the driver, I will point towards the correct direction but say the opposite word. Occasionally, when I read large signs, the letters switch places. It takes me a few moments to figure out the words I am reading because it doesn’t occur to me right away that I’m not seeing the letters properly.

In some studies, some left-handed people who were forced to use their right hands instead, are dyslexic. A disproportionate number of left-handers have an autoimmune disease and so did others in their family. (My mother has an autoimmune disease.) In a study on brain dominance, about 10% who had symmetrical brain dominance were strongly left-handed. They found that the lefties had 12 times more learning disabilities and nearly 3 times more autoimmune diseases than right-handers in the study. A gene that favors dyslexia is located on the same chromosome that contains a gene important to immune function. So many things are tied together.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

