Day 343 : wrinkles

343wrinkles

Sandy: One can get wrinkles not only around the eyes as one ages but can get wrinkles in the eye, too. I found out today that I have wrinkles in the back of my eye, on the surface of the macular area of the retina. It was discovered during my eye exam. I’d been thinking about enhancing the lasik surgery I had done thirteen years ago because my vision has been a little squirrelly. I thought I my right eye, corrected for distance, felt weird and strained when I used it for close up work because of the astigmatism. When the doctor started talking about ‘floaters’ I thought he was going to say next ‘detached retina’. The condition, epiretinal membranes, is not as serious as a detached retina but the surgery is almost as dangerous. I’m not a candidate, yet, my diminished vision has to be 20/70 and it is only 20/30. So I have to live with this visual distortion and hope it doesn’t worsen. I won’t need to consider lasik surgery any more because it wouldn’t help.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

