Day 342 : m and m

342mandm

Sandy: I had a shoulder and neck massage today, badly needed I might add. It was offered at a luncheon and a restorative meditation, Yoga Nidra, led by Rebecca Mayne. The masseur does neuromuscular therapy and sports massage. He told me that my left side was more tight than my right which doesn’t come as a complete surprise because I know I’m doing the same bad habits on my left that I do on my right ever since I’ve worked on making my left hand dominant. I also found out that I need to stretch out my pectoral muscles. Because of the push-ups I do in boot camp, my shoulders are rolling forward, pulled by the muscles. Not often have I had a masseur who is very knowledgeable about physically active bodies. In response to my complaint of my not being able to hold up my head sometimes, he said that it is typical with people who use computers all day. Sounds like I should spend more time prone.

Rebecca instructed us through the meditation using a voice that was so soothing. It usually takes me a long time to focus on meditating. As I am typing I realized she never had us focus on breathing – maybe that was the difference because I was doing what she was saying rather than thinking about my breath. While I was in a sleep-like state, nudged by my daughter when I made unflattering nasal sounds, I was still hearing Rebecca’s voice and able to receive instructions. Even though I felt like I was in a deep meditative state, I heard her tell us it was time to bring our attention back to a conscious state. It’s possible that I reached yoga nidra, yogi sleep. There you go, evidence that I should be prone – hah!

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

