Day 333 : dummy

333dummy

Sandy: My husband’s sister-in-law, KathyB, also went on the cruise. During our time at sea we had some opportunities to play bridge (the illustration is one of the Dummy hands). I normally hold the cards in my left hand and deal with my right so I was doing the opposite and dealing with my left. I had a lot of trouble coordinating my right thumb. As I tried to push the top card away from the stacked deck in my hand, the cards were slowly sliding out of my grip. Considering my right hand has very good small motor skills, it behaved like it wasn’t used to making small dexterous movements. What’s funny is that I noticed that KathyB, who is left handed, held the cards in her left hand and dealt with her right hand, like I naturally do it. Then I observed my husband and KathyB’s partner, both right-handers, and saw they both held the cards in their right hand and dealt with their left. When I inquired why, they both said it was how they’ve always done it and looked at me like I was the one who is backwards. Interesting how our hands divide tasks and which one is considered dominant for a particular task.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

