Day 307 : mathlete

307mathlete

Sandy: By George I think I’ve got it! Lately I’ve been blurting out the correct answers after barely spending much time doing the math in my head. This has been happening frequently when my husband and I discuss money, athlete’s statistics, discounts on sale merchandise, age differences and so on. I had lost my confidence in my math abilities and that is one reason why I am using my left hand. Do I dare say this is a result of exercising my brain because I’m challenging it, engaging parts of my brain in a different way because I am doing tasks, drawing and writing with my left hand? It’s possible and it’s encouraging. Wednesday when our book club met, I remembered all the character’s names. Usually I don’t remember the author of the book. I am halfway through another book and didn’t read it for a few weeks so I could read my book club book. When I resumed reading it, I was surprised that I remembered the scene I had left and continued reading seamlessly. In the past I would have had to skim a few chapters to remind myself. This is a good sign!

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

