Day 306 : super S

306superS

Sandy: When I was a young adult, my mom would give me gold initial pendants with design variations of the letter “S” that I wore on a gold chain necklace. I revived my interest in wearing my favorite one and haven’t taken it off all year. It looks like the Superman logo. I am frequently asked by others where it can be purchased because they want to gift it to daughters, friends, sisters, girlfriends and wives. Today when I ran a 5K race I would rub my finger on my S, trying to activate super powers from within. I am not fond of running but participated in the race in support of Run For Courage. A 5K sounds longer than 3.1 miles which is it’s equivalent. It is about the shortest length worth setting up a course for a race. I think that is why the length of running races are advertised in kilometers, it sounds like a great distance to pedestrian and occasional runners. The last time I ran a race, a 10K, was over 30 years ago and the moment I was done, I decided to never run a race again. And I thought about that while I ran as well as thinking about an injury I might get and not being able to play tennis, and about falling into the lake the race course snaked around, and about the horrible illegal business of human trafficking and how races like this bring awareness to others, and about how how trafficked victims cannot run nor runaway. Somehow I found it in me to not walk nor stop but keep running. And then I was at the finish line.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

