Day 299 : kidney

299kidney

Sandy: I attended the National Kidney Foundation’s (NKF) 25th anniversary San Francisco Authors Luncheon today. The NKF serves millions of people with kidney disease and raises awareness for the 73 million Americans who are at risk. There are five progressive levels in kidney disease. It cannot be reversed so early detection is critical in order to slow or stop its progression. The patient speaker had kidney failure after being diagnosed with Lupus. She talked about the amount of energy and drive she was expending that could have eventually led to her demise but prudently listened to her family and doctors who mapped out a healthier, still active lifestyle. Her blog about living a low-sodium life is revered by many – sodiumgirl.com.

One of my mother’s very good friends, K, had kidney disease. I remember when I was young, K stayed with us after having a kidney transplant. She recovered and seemed pretty healthy for many years. But what I didn’t know was what it was like for Auntie K every time she had dialysis. It is so brutal and draining, literally. For my birthday once, she took me to Joseph Magnins so I could choose anything I wanted. It was so special and is one of my cherished memories.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

