Day 296 : global

296globe

Sandy: I always wanted a large globe, three feet in diameter so I could see the tiniest country. One on a stand so I could hover over it as it spun around. I dreamed of traveling when I was in my 20s but the only opportunity was on my honeymoon. My children on the other hand, have wanderlust and before they reach 30 they’ve collectively been to Amsterdam, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Ecuador, England, France, Greece, Grenada, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Peru, Spain, Uruguay. Three lived abroad for at least a year. Given my children’s past record I shouldn’t think this is unusual but I do – from the end of September to the end of November, eight weeks, we and our kids will have traveled to eight countries and not together – Germany, Italy, France, Switzerland, Kenya, Mexico, Belize, Honduras. And one is trying to go to Southeast Asia in January. The internet has opened up the world to my children’s generation in a different way than a globe could possibly do. Doing research, finding accommodations, restaurants, directions and transportation is so easy now. One doesn’t even need travelers checks any longer. A Debit or Credit card will do.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

