Day 287 : diary/journal

287diary

Sandy: When I was a child I tried to write in a diary/journal but I never thought I had anything interesting to say. Nothing I did seemed worth recording. Writing down anything exciting never seemed as wonderful as the elation I had felt. In truth, I mostly was afraid that if my older sister read my diary she would think I was stupid. Now I’ve been writing publicly for 287 days and I don’t care much about what someone else thinks because I’m doing this for me, no one else, and I don’t think my sister has looked at my blog once.

On the other hand, my friend has always written down her thoughts, has tons of journals and will have her sixth novel published in November. In 2008 she gave me a six by six inch journal. The cover was a soft, thick but supple, aged-looking, forest green-colored leather engraved with “L. DA VINCI”. She knew I admired Leonardo and this journal looked like it could have been his. She also gave me a smaller “mini” version. She watched the making of these journals – the paper was hand tied and bound, the leather cut with the help of straight edges and French curves. I wrote in the larger journal about me worrying of which writing instrument to use, whether I should indent the paragraphs or add space between them, should I write on both sides of the paper, what clever words I could have first written. The first thing I wrote in the Mini was, “Leonardo was left-handed”. Underneath that I wrote in cursive and backwards, “Journals were written in mirror-image cursive right to left”. I had to hold the page up to the mirror because I couldn’t read my handwriting. I tried but do not regularly write in my journals but instead use them for “special” things because they are precious to me and I’m afraid to use up all the pages. Ha! highly unlikely.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

