Day 285 : mac nuts

285macnuts

Sandy: I used to proclaim to love macadamia nuts. In 1979, I was thrilled to discover Mrs. Fields Cookies when I worked in Palo Alto. My favorite cookies were Macadamia nut, Toffee/chocolate chip, and Semisweet Chocolate with nuts. Since the cookies were 35 cents each, I would only buy two at a time. It seemed expensive then but compared to today’s prices, it was a pretty good deal for such deliciously large cookies. When my husband and I went to Hawaii in the early 1980s, I had to visit the macadamia nut plantation. We drove back and forth many times looking for signs on the road to point us to the entrance. Finally it occurred to us that the owner’s name had been changed – to “Mrs. Fields”. At that moment the romance of the macadamia nut tree immediately vanished but since they were not native to Hawaii, originally from Australia, I shouldn’t have felt the disappointment. By that time Mrs. Fields stores had popped up everywhere and they needed to own their macadamia nut source. Hawaii still gets credited with creating the industry for the macadamia nut.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

