Day 284 : pastels

284pastels

Sandy: I’ve been using oil pastels this week because I didn’t want to travel with the large chalky set I’ve been using all year. They would have broken in transit and made a mess. The oil pastels are almost like using adult crayons. The package has only twelve colors which makes coloring pretty limiting. But they do create a nice texture though don’t blend as nicely when I use my fingers. Apparently if I use a wet brush, the pastels will blend and can create a nice shading effect. I’ll try that later when I have more time to spend on my “coloring”. When I bought the oil pastels I found out I should wear a mask when I use the chalky pastels because the chalk dust floats in the air and settles in the lungs, which does not sound healthy.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

