Day 281 : taro

imageSandy: Taro, like the banyan tree, is native to India (southern). It was brought to Hawaii and eventually became a food staple and traditional part of a Hawaiian meal. I remember eating taro chips as a child and was sad when they were no longer available. I begged one of my friends to buy some for me when she went to Hawaii and was disappointed when I read the label stating that it was made by the same company that made Lays potato chips in California. I was elated when over 20 years ago, Terra chips started a business making taro chips. While I couldn’t find taro chips I could at least satisfy my taro desires with taro dumplings at a Chinese dim sum restaurant. When we arrived in Maui, I promptly bought a bag of taro chips. I ate two bags in two days but have restrained from having any since.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

