Day 270 : marin

270marin

Sandy: I have a mountain bike made by Marin Bikes. The bikes are mostly named after biking trails in Marin County. Mine is named Mt. Vision but I’ve never ridden the Mount Vision Overlook trail. It’s partly paved and part dirt that climbs to 1,282 feet over 4 miles. That wouldn’t prevent me from riding it, I just haven’t done it. I love my bike, it has been very reliable, though it sits in the garage with a flat tire since I haven’t been riding while trying to cure the tingly finger problem I get when I ride. My bike got me down the craziest trails in Downieville and around the awesome mountain biking meccas like Slickrock, Bryce Canyon, Gooseberry Mesa, Canyonlands, Lake Tahoe, and Bend. When I rode in Downieville it was three months after having a concussion (flew off my bike when a bee crawled under my sunglasses). I was pretty naive about concussions and didn’t know how long the effects could last. Parts of the trails were pretty bumpy which caused my brain to get knocked around. The scenery seemed surreal and it seemed like I was dreaming. That should have been my first clue that I wasn’t healed. I consider myself lucky to have stayed on my bike where the trails on one side went straight down into a canyon – and lived to tell about it.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

