Day 257 : what matters

257africa

Sandy: I didn’t sleep well on Friday night, then yesterday I was so busy that when I returned from a fundraiser last night, I was so tired I couldn’t keep my eyes open while sitting at the computer to write my blog. I literally was nodding off so I went to bed without posting yesterday.

The fundraiser I attended was for Africa Matters. Their mission is to conserve natural resources habitats and wildlife. I went as a guest of my friend who is a veterinarian. She has been to Africa many, many times and comes back still in love with the country, its people, culture and wildlife. My oldest daughter travels to Kibera, Kenya to oversee projects initiated by the non-profit, Kounkuey Design Initiative. She really enjoys working collaboratively with the people in the communities where they are transforming an environmental liability into usable public space such as building sanitation blocks, waste management and community space to host meetings, social activities, markets.

The rendering is of one of the fabrics I bought at the fundraiser. It is wax printed.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

