Day 253 : dear john

253apron

Sandy: For Christmas a couple of years ago I wanted to give my children something very personal that would be a signature “Mom” gift that no one else would give them and also something that reflected them. So I made aprons. Originally I was going to upcycle garments they had left behind when they moved into their own homes but all I could salvage was one shirt and some lace. Nothing else would make a decent apron they would wear. I bought some linen napkins to use as pockets from a thrift store then spent a lot of time scouring the aisles to find fabric that matched their personalities. My son’s apron was more difficult to conceive because I didn’t want to make a stereotypical male apron with beer, sports, fish, or barbeque as the theme. So what I made him was an apron that looked how a guy might look when he comes home from work – shirt unbuttoned at the neck with only one shirt tail tucked into jeans, neck tie loosened and partially taken apart (all supplies from the Goodwill store). When it’s worn over other clothes you do a double take because it almost looks like real clothes.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

