Day 242 : ice cream

242icecream

Sandy: I’m in the middle of making fresh peach ice cream. The peaches have to cure in lemon and sugar for two hours. I’m using the fresh goat milk that I got this morning from my friend who lives in Sebastopol. It will be interesting to see the consistency since there is less fat in goat milk than cow’s milk and cream. My ice cream maker is at least 30 years old. It is a White Mountain knock off but works pretty well. The motor is loud, though, and I worry about it wearing out. I have wonderful memories of making ice cream with my Brownie troupe on our camping trip. CarolL sat on top to hold down the canister while the rest of us cranked the handle which turned the paddle inside. The crank went in only one direction, clockwise. It may have felt backwards for left-handers.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

