Day 237 : dirt diva

237DirtDiva

Sandy: At nine in the morning, when I was in Ross and San Anselmo yesterday, I saw at least 30 cyclists – individuals and groups, road and mountain bicycles – in the span of five minutes. Some were taking their bikes off their car racks, just starting their ride, and some were returning (you could tell because they looked completely satisfied). I was so envious. I used to be one of those people – jumping on my mountain bike, eager to ride on any trail with my dirt diva girl friends at nine o’clock. On a weekend day we would take longer rides, i.e. up Mt. Tam and down to Olema. I haven’t been riding for over a year because after awhile, my body position on a bike brings on tingles in my fingers. Eventually they feel numb and it hurts to change gears or engage the brakes. One of the divas moved to Bend, OR, another moved to Donner Lake, one is still recuperating from a car accident 20 months later.

(Kelly came up with this image for our Dirt Diva shirts. I customized it for my blog to look more like me.)

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

One response to “Day 237 : dirt diva

Leave a Reply

