Day 236 : no good very bad day

236noGood

Sandy: Today wasn’t a completely terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day because the Giants won. But the day did start out pretty bad. I deposited a check at the ATM and took out $60. I don’t like to fuss around with money in front of an ATM so I folded the money and stuffed it into my front pant pocket, took my receipt and debit card out of the machine and walked across the street. When I fished the money out of my pocket but it wasn’t there. I hadn’t even walked 100 feet away from the ATM and it had disappeared. I looked around, retracing my steps four times. There was hardly anyone walking or driving on the street so I couldn’t detect if anyone looked like they won a jackpot. I’m not a careless or reckless person so I berate myself when I lose something. My husband told me it wasn’t the end of the world, occasionally things like that happen and to consider it a massa. (He, being an ex-catholic, alter boy and alumnus of Portsmouth Abbey and now completely nonreligious, still remembers everything from the bible.) Simple definition: a lifting up, gift. Whoever found it got a gift. I am pretending that my paycheck is $60 less than was payable to me. Better than getting mugged at the ATM.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

