Day 227 : waa, waa, waa

227waawaa

Sandy: I am convinced that some tasks are a challenge for left-handers especially when common tools like can openers and scissors/shears are right hand biased. But on a list professed by a left-hander, some are legitimate complaints and others are a questionable. For instance, writing in spiral notebooks or three-ring binders – it is difficult for either hand depending on which page you are writing – the front side (right hand side) of the page for left-handers or the back side (left hand side) for right handers. Also not legit – coffee cup holders for drivers in a car – impossible to make it anything but for the right hand if designed into the center console. The left-handers who complain about this might not have thought about being a passenger who could consider the passenger cup holder to be left hand biased. Furthermore, if one is driving in England where the steering wheel is on the right side, the cup holder would be in the center console, thus convenient for the left hand. I doubt if all the right-handers in England are complaining. I wouldn’t argue if it was suggested that a car’s ignition key is right hand biased, though.

When I write with my left hand I don’t smear lead or ink or pastels across the page because of the way I hold my writing instrument and the tilt of the paper which is a mirror image of how it looks when I use my right hand. Some left-handed people look like contortionists when they write. I’m guessing their teacher or parents never adjusted the paper properly for them when they were learning to write and draw. Just sayin’ – my perspective after switching to my left hand for eight months.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

