Day 208 : watermelon

208watermelon

Sandy: I’m taking a fruit salad to a potluck tonight. In the past I was never fond of using the hull of a watermelon as the bowl. It seemed so contrived, overused, not clever any more. But in this day and age, I humbly say it’s a great way to re-purpose. I’ve never been able to make completely round watermelon balls. I wish I knew the secret because all mine have one flat side. I make watermelon domes. My left hand actual made better balls, 80% were round. Instead of a carving a zigzag along the top edge to make a finished appearance, I made a curving wave shape. It’s a good thing that the rind wasn’t too hard to cut with a knife because I was afraid if I applied to much pressure, I would lose control over my left hand and the knife would stab my right hand that was holding the watermelon steady.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

