Day 199 : not by choice

199gabby

Sandy: My idea of changing from being a right-hander to a left-hander may seem silly or frivolous to some. When asked why I am doing this project and I give my reasons, I get mixed responses. What I am doing is nothing compared to someone who loses the ability to use their hand, dominant or not, temporarily or forever. A couple people have written to me about the difficulties they have getting things done with their “good”, uninjured but not so adept hand. Gabby Giffords, who was shot in the head, has recovered some of her motor skills beyond what doctors expected but has had to learn to use her left hand for everything. She will never have use of her right hand again. In my small world, I am fortunate to still have a choice. For Gabby and other people with injuries, this is their life. They have to adapt immediately. I am doing it over the course of a year. I switch to my right hand whenever I choose or if I get frustrated with the performance of my left. Gabby has to face challenges head on, no putting them off or they won’t get accomplished. It’s a completely different mindset. I respect and admire her. I’ll try harder.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

