Day 187 : the Bryans

Sandy: Mike and Bob Bryan won the men’s doubles tennis championship at Wimbledon today. With that win, they have the distinction of being the first men’s doubles team in Open-era history to hold all four Grand Slam titles simultaneously plus the Olympic gold medal, completing what is called the Golden Grand Slam. 

The Bryan brothers are identical twins, considered mirror twins since Bob is left-handed, Mike is right-handed, though I don’t know if Bob has situs inversus which would mean all his internal organs are flopped (see Day 156). Observing them during the change overs during their match, they sat down next to each other, picked up their water bottle at the same time (Bob with his left hand, Mike with his right) twisted off the caps with their opposite hands. If they had been facing each other, it would have looked like they were looking in a mirror because they were in perfect synchronization. I just remembered that visual from kindergarten when classmates, identical twins Pat and Pam Kleinsauser, sat with me at lunch time. They, too, moved at the same time. Pat was left-handed and Pam was right. That is when I first thought I wish I were left-handed and also thought it would be cool to have a twin. Well, I did have fraternal twin children and I am switching from my right hand to my left.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

