Day 168 : javelin

168javelin

Sandy: When would anyone have an opportunity learn how to throw a javelin? Well as it turns out, after lunch on Sunday my family learned how from my sister’s boyfriend, Kevin, who is a personal trainer. Kevin stretched out a measuring tape to 200 feet. We practiced with turbo javelins to learn the technique before throwing the actual javelins. You have to be able to reach straight back with your throwing arm while keeping the javelin pointing forward. It felt a it awkward. I wasn’t very good when I made several attempts with my right hand so I tried using my left hand which was worse. But the throw I did with my right hand immediately after my left was my best and actually decent, a legal throw with the point piercing the ground. Interesting enough, the technique for throwing a javelin also includes choreographed steps. We had a blast learning!

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

