Day 154 : floss

What we have here is an uninteresting drawing of dental floss.

154floss

Sandy: I recently realized that dental floss containers are specifically made for the right hand to pull out the floss while the left hand holds the container. I imagine I am not alone with other right-handers never thinking twice about pulling the floss with our right hand. But if you want to pull the floss with your left hand, it’s awkward. Most likely you would turn the container completely around or sideways in order to use one of the fingers on your right hand to hold down the floss while swiping it across the cutting device.

I consulted Kelly and she concurred that dental floss containers are definitely right-hand biased. She’s so used to adapting that she hardly noticed. Which leads me to think that some left-handers can get a little snarky about living in a right-handed world. If I were left-handed, I think I would embrace the fact that I have opportunities that force me to use my right hand, developing a dual-handedness. Having used my left hand more and more over the last five months, I find myself switching back and forth just because I can. It’s become a little of a game. And since I’m the only one playing, I always win!

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

