Day 120 : accessories

Hair clips, barrettes and decorated bobbie pins most always slide onto the hair from front to back if used on the right side of the head. If you put them on the left side the design would be upside down.

120beltbuckle

Why do women wear belts opposite of how they are worn by men? For women the end is held in the left hand and put through the buckle which is on the right side. The buckle on men’s belts are worn on the left side so they use their right hand to put the end into the buckle.

Sandy: I had high hopes for drawing my husband’s silver and brass belt buckle. It’s my favorite. I sneak it out of his drawer and wear it sometimes. I didn’t draw it well but I really like the intricacy. 

Kelly:  I know the end of women’s belts generally go to the left but I like having the end of the belt go to the right (men’s way). The belt I drew has a slight curve in the belt so you can only wear it the “women’s way”.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

