Day 119 : jewelry

119jewelry

Jewelry is something that is made for the purpose of adorning the body. Objects like shells and animal teeth then rocks and gemstones, as jewelry evolved, were used. Using metal for chains and settings in contemporary jewelry is typical. Beading, clay, glass, wood, threads and fabric have been revisited for a more natural look.

Sandy: My friend Gretchen has been making exquisite jewelry from uncommon objects like fossilized coral tongues, Nepali amber resin, serpentine locks, Chinese coins. Every piece is a work of art. She has an amazing gift for color and balance. The necklace I rendered is a silk dupioni neckband, with a raw silk pocket hanging by garnet beads. The silk pocket holds a Chinese magnifying glass so I’m prepared to read the “small print”. http://www.gretchen-schields.com/collections.aspx

Kelly: I am inspired by interesting jewelry, colored stones and metal. I love making beading creations for friends and family. These glass beads are from Murano Italy and each bead is a work of art. I’ve noticed since we’ve started this blog that there is a definitely right-handed bias in jewelry – from how clasps are put on (making it so when you put on a necklace the clasp is in your right hand) to having to wind your watch on the right side (which is hard to do when it’s on your right arm), to wearing your wedding ring on your left hand (causing me to snag, smack, clank my wedding ring daily) Maybe I’ll put my wedding ring on my right index finger… they do that in India.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

