Day 114 : furoshiki

114furoshiki

Japanese use cloth to transport gifts, clothes, food and many other things. The wrapping cloth is called furoshiki. By folding, tucking, twisting and tying, just about anything can be carried. When giving a gift, Japanese feel the wrapping reflects the intention and is just as important and meaningful as the gift that is being wrapped. Just like wrapping paper, furoshiki wrapping cloth is available in colorful patterns and different sizes.

Sandy: Over the last decade, because I’ve been more conscientious about recycling, reusing and my carbon footprint, I have a dilemma about giving wrapped gifts. After I discovered furoshiki, I’ve tried to use excess fabric from sewing projects or buy inexpensive remnants. I also cut up clothes that are being excised from my wardrobe which makes me feel good that I am upcycling. 

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

