Day 113 : pottery

113pottery

Pottery, made of clay, includes earthenware, stoneware, and porcelain. It is so durable that archeologists have discovered pottery as old as 29,000 BCE. Clay is formed by hand, on a potter’s wheel, in a mould, cast, coiled and shaped, then fired/baked sometimes with a glaze, or can be without.

Sandy: My drawing is of a porcelain jar I brought home from China (country of my ancestors) when I was there in 1991. It dates back to the Ching Dynasty during the Jiaqing reign between 1796 and 1821. Somehow I managed to carry it home without breaking it. The first time I saw a potter’s kick wheel was when my mom was taking a class and I was in grade school. I thought it was so cool. I’ve always wanted to “throw pots” but haven’t had the opportunity. Seems like there is no bias when it comes to handedness since hands are used cross-laterally.

Kelly: Though I don’t consider myself a hoarder… not only do I have a basket collecting problem but it’s apparent I have a pot collecting issue as well. I can’t help it. I love the colors, materials, sizes… mostly I love putting plants (easy care succulents specifically) in them. These succulents are by my front door. I have a Christmas cactus that is 20 years old. A friend’s grandmother gave me the cutting to start with when I first moved to the bay area from her plant that was over 100 years old. 

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

