Day 111 : trompe l’oeil

Trompe l’oeil (in French means deceiving the eye) was often used in murals to give an illusion or make a suggestion. For example, if painting on a flat ceiling that you want to look domed, painting it in the perspective with correct vanishing points would give the illusion it is rounded. Chalk street artists are quite creative using trompe l’oeil.

111trompe

Sandy: My drawing is of a light switch. I put my hand up to the drawing and took a picture. The final image posted looks like I’m turning off the light switch. I could have a lot of fun drawing in the style of trompe l’oeil. Tempted to pursue and do a chalk drawing for the annual Italian street painting festival in San Rafael.

Kelly: I was looking online at Trompe l’oeil and realized, when I saw examples, my mom’s painting in this style is one which I have always liked.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

