Day 108 : needlepoint and cross-point

108needlepoint

Research suggests that instructions for needlepoint and cross-point are written for right-handers. Essentially, a left-hander would be stitching a mirror image of the instructions and the stitches will slope the opposite way to what they would for a right-hander. A left-hander would follow the directions but start in the top right corner of the color area of the design. If doing the basketweave stitch, start in the top left corner. Instead of the stitches running from top to bottom right to left, they will run top to bottom left to right.

Sandy: For many years my older sister, DaphneC, loved doing cross-point. You were lucky if you received a gift of love and labor from her because they were beautifully crafted and something one would keep forever. My illustration is of the cross-point stitching DaphneC did on a Tyke Hike chair for my daughter. The bear is actually all done in cross-point but I only drew an outline. It was hard to draw the correct slant – top right to bottom left. Is that because if I were truly doing a cross-point I would be going in the mirrored direction – top left to bottom right?

Kelly: I used to needlepoint all the time when I was a kid on car road trips. I was actually not bad and got into learning all the fun stitches to create different patterns. Again, can’t remember any left/right issues. I saw these kits and am definitely going to get one to do for my next road trip.  http://www.purlbee.com/needlepoint-iphone-cases/

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

