Day 107 : crochet

107crochetskb

Has crochet become a lost art? Considering it is easy to learn, not often is a person seen crocheting. If you like repetition, you’d like crochet in which  loops are hooked together, loop after loop, creating a pattern. Crocheting is not left or right hand biased, though instructions are written for right-handers. Drawings of patterns are almost as intricate as the crocheting itself. Reading the symbols is like reading hieroglyphics.

Sandy: My mom taught me to knit and crochet. I preferred knitting because I gained more ground, anxious to complete my project. A left-handed friend complained that she regularly has to untwist the ball of yarn as she crochets because it twirls and tangles. Maybe it would make a difference in the directional twist of the yarn she uses – S vs. Z twist.

Kelly: I learned to knit and crochet as a kid too and I can’t remember my mom having any issues teaching me because I was left-handed (she was right handed). I crocheted a “blanket” (more like a blankie) out of pink, white and baby blue multi-colored yarn (eek).

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

