Day 106 : sewing

106sewingSandy: I would say that my Elna sewing machine is right hand biased. The lever to operate the pressure foot can only be maneuvered with the right hand. If I want to change any setting with my left hand I have to cross my left arm in front of me to reach them which is a little awkward.

I tried hand sewing with my left hand. Wait, back-up. First I tried threading the needle with the thread in my left hand. Already I was at a disadvantage because I can barely see the teeny eye of the needle nowadays. Hand stitching, hems in particular, are demonstrated having the needle in the right hand with the sewing direction going from the right to left. It can be done left-handed but one would have to think in mirror image.

Kelly: The artwork on the old McCall Sewing Patterns are really pretty funky and fun. These are from the 60s. My drawing made the girls look possessed!

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

