Day 105 : crafts

105knitpurlb

There are so many things we do with our hands, or used to do – sew, knit, crotchet, needlepoint, embroider, basketry, papier-mâché, crafts of many sorts. Either it became unnecessary with manufacturing or we lost interest or can’t dedicate the time. We will explore crafts, for the next several days, to see if any are right or left hand biases.

Sandy: My friend RundiH told me that the yarn unwinds funny when she knits left-handed. She has to untwist the ball of yarn after awhile. My mom taught me how to knit. She knit all our sweaters when we were young. When I was in high school she knit, to my specifications, baby blue colored hot pants with a bib and suspenders. About 25 years ago I knit my husband a sweater. I used a gorgeous variegated alpaca wool and it fit him perfectly. Over the course of a few wearings the sweater grew. And grew. And grew until it fit a size 50. I took it apart and rewound the wool into balls and knit the sweater again. Because I had found a mistake on the back and was debating if I would take it apart again, it sat in a bag for 10 years before I finally put all the pieces together. While researching today’s post, I came across an unfinished man’s vest and a toddler sweater. What to do?

Kelly: I want to see a picture of Sandy’s blue hot pants! yeah baby! I just picked up knitting after 30 plus years of not doing it. I had to take a class and though the basics came back quickly the hardest thing was controlling the yarn and needles securely and tightly with my left hand. I would think right handers would have an even harder time?

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

