Day 104 : more practice

104list
One of the reasons why we focus on a theme for a few days is because drawing something related to the theme gives our left hand practice, not to mention it adds visual interest to our blog. We would practice writing more but when you think about it, not much writing is done daily now that computers are omnipresent at work and home.

Sandy: I might write a grocery list, make a note about left hand ideas for the blog or occasionally jot down notes during a client phone conversation. There isn’t much opportunity to draw any more since the computer is our main design tool. Gone are the days of layout pads and sketch books. Occasionally I do a rough sketch, a thumbnail drawing just to remind me of my idea. When I take notes in a meeting I can’t write fast enough with my left hand so have to revert to using my right. When I’ve tried to write my grocery list I concentrate so hard on writing with my left hand that I’ve forgotten what I need after writing down the second item.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

