Day 97 : Modernism and beyond

97Modern

The Modern period covers a long period of time and many styles are related so it’s a bit confusing. If theses styles aren’t included then they were introduced between Modernism and the revival of Modernism: Constructivism, Futurism, Expressionism, mid-century Modern, Brutalism, Postmodern, Neo Modern and on and on.

Sandy: This time when I used the straight edge it wasn’t as difficult. My right hand did a much better job at holding the triangle still. I first saw Calatrava‘s work in Redding of all places. His Sundial Bridge is spectacular at every angle. I even laid down on my back so I could capture the height of the bridge with my camera. Unfortunately I didn’t get to spend any time at the Milwaukee Art Museum, nor was witness to the flapping of it’s wings when I was in Wisconsin 18 months ago.

Kelly: The Burj Al Arab Hotel, Dubai, is acclaimed for its luxurious amenities and is one of the most recognizable buildings in modern architecture. Noted with the world’s tallest atrium, and equipped with its own helicopter landing pad and tallest tennis court at the top.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

One response to “Day 97 : Modernism and beyond

Leave a Reply

