Day 88 : art deco

88artdeco

Art Deco followed Arts and Crafts in the 1920s but was more elegant and looked modern. Many different materials besides wood were used – lacquer, leather, exotic skins, metal (stainless steel and aluminum). The variety of materials and geometric shapes defined this style.

Sandy: Most art deco furniture I find very appealing. The broad curves are sexy, the lines creating geometric shapes excite my design senses. I drew free-hand today which is more intimate than using a straight edge. For some reason, my vertical straight lines were less shaky than yesterday. Drawing a circle is really hard because it requires making a curved, never straight, line all the way around. I had to make tiny adjustments as I went along and it was hard to know where I would end up. I got lucky and the mirror came out the size I needed. 

Kelly: A furniture designer Joel Liebman made this bed. I can’t tell if I like it or not. It’s funky that’s for sure. 

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

