Day 86 : shaker

86shaker

Far different from Baroque style is Shaker which is simple and functional. For example, the ladder-back chair is an attractive yet practical piece of furniture. It required little amount of materials and the different parts could be flat or rounded.

Sandy: The caption for my drawing should be “shaking chair” since I can’t seem to draw a straight line. This is not indicative of Shaker furniture which, simple as it looks, is precisely made with mortise and tenon joints, not with nails. I remember a professor in my college environmental design class saying that in some households, these chairs would be stored by being hung on a wall. On another note, I am getting better with using scissors when cutting my fingernails. Most of the time I am frightened of getting too close to the skin and may need some of that stuff dog groomers use when they cut the quick. Perhaps I should do a cut-out if my next illustration is too shaky.

Kelly: Shaker is much more my style though somewhat boring to draw. I like the more modern versions anyway. My husband is a carpenter and has made some really beautiful shaker-style pieces ranging from jewelry boxes to a large armour for the TV. Simple lines, light, clean wood. I drew the amour that has become obsolete due to the flatscreen that has taken it’s place. We love the “box” so we may cut it into the eaves of our son’s bedroom wall and use it for storage.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

