Day 85 : baroque

85baroque

The era of Baroque runs roughly from about 1590s to 1725. Its elegant and exquisite details were sometimes embellished with inlays of metal, tortoise shell, ebony and gilded carvings. The use of caryatids, female figured shaped table or chair legs, (in architecture serving as support columns) were introduced.

Sandy: This is my second worse drawing. Maddening because I couldn’t replicate the graceful swashes and beauty of baroque. 

Kelly: Reproduced French console table and mirror. ($3500 for anyone interested) I loved the curliques and thought they’d be fun to draw. Left-handed maybe… It was hard to try to get the two sides of the drawing to match because the mirror was fairly symmetrical (but I noticed not perfectly). The left side was going fine but when I went to the right side of the mirror I couldn’t seem to get the curls right. I should have just picked a corner of the mirror to concentrate on but my eyes were bigger then my hands. Does that make sense? Then I just sort of gave up and went for the overall look.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

