Day 82 : abstract

Day82

Abstract Impressionism began in the late 1940s, overlapping Pop art. Wayne Thiebaud’s style is mislabeled by some as Pop art. The difference is, he works from real life not media images, using loose brush strokes not a precise, mechanical, hard-edged painting style. His landscapes and cityscapes were similar to Richard Diebenkorn’s, having a high horizon line with extreme points of view.

Sandy: How does one pick which art do copy when all of Wayne Thiebaud’s work is so awesome, whether it’s a landscape of still art? I couldn’t so I used a slice of my daughter’s birthday cake as my subject matter. The problem though, the cake was a chocolate torte – brown on brown on brown. What was I thinking? In spite of myself, the rendering turned out pretty good, just like the cake itself. I can take credit for drawing the cake but my daughter baked her own cake, though I frosted it (I was having a no good very bad busy day).

Kelly: Diebenkorn lived and worked (going to school, teaching and painting) all over the Bay Area and passed away in Berkeley in 1993. You can see his work at the DeYoung in SF. I have a print hanging in my office of his Seawall painting from 1957 which I have attempted to copy.  I wanted to see if I could do a whole project using my left hand with the mouse in Photoshop. Not fun! I am so much faster using my right hand!

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

