Day 80 : cubism

80cubism

Alas, our post. Way too many things going on today.

In order to have our less dominant hand feel more natural when doing tasks, we have to use it constantly. Since we both use computers (keyboard and mouse) to create our designs, we aren’t required to write much throughout the day. So we decided one way to develop fine motor skills is to draw as much as possible for our posts. Cubism was influenced by African, Micronesian and Native American art. Picasso was one of the first to hone in on Cubism. Braque, a colleague of Picasso, was somewhat overshadowed by him so his work less known but one can see the similarities in their styles.

Sandy: When we picked Cubism, I thought, oh whew, this might be easier to emulate but after studying the technique, balancing the shapes and composition was tricky. While I was drawing Birth of the Gods, I thought the control I was having with my pencil was going to be a problem but instead I benefited from my unsteadiness and my drawing turned out very much like Braque’s. It made me appreciate the way how Braque could freely draw which seemed to be without judgement, unlike me who is concerned about how well I render.

Kelly: I was going to add color but Picasso had those great dark black lines in his work. Figured I would leave as is. The piece I copied is called Les Demoiselles d’Avignon, 1907.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

