Day 79 : impressions

79impression

In the mid-19th century, Impressionism began with a group of Parisian artists, in particular, Claude Monet. The term is based on one of Monet’s paintings named Impression, soleil levant (sunrise). Instead of mixing paint to obtain a certain color, unmixed paint was dabbed on in short  brush strokes. Painting outdoors became popular and many beautiful scenic paintings were produced. During this period another artist’s style worth mentioning is M.C. Escher. Not only was he left-handed but he created his own style based on mathematical relationships. His work was imaginative, rendering something that looked real but in reality can’t exist. I’m a believer that an artist can also be good at math.

Sandy: This is by far my worst effort. Ugh! Drawing a drawing of a hands drawing hands. On the other hand, Kelly’s is awesome!

Kelly: I thought since I like Monet so much it would be easier but it wasn’t. So I started by using my colored pencils which are super old and don’t really work very well. Or my right hand doesn’t work very well which was really what was going on. Then I took the water lily painting and put it on a Photoshop layer and played around with effects until I came up with this. I did try to use my left hand on the mouse (opposite of what I normally do) but it started hurting so I went back to my right.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

One response to “Day 79 : impressions

Leave a Reply

