Day 77 : fav artists

march18

Sandy: I have great admiration for Leonardo da Vinci. A) he is left-handed. B) He was brilliant. Not only was he an incredible artist (the iconic Vitruvian Man, Mona Lisa) but he was an inventor, a conceptualizer of many things (helicopter, tank, solar poser, calculator, double hull, musical instruments, hydraulic pumps, hang glider). He wrote in his journals in cursive, backwards (right to left) and mirror image. When I wrote in this fashion I was at first slow and deliberate but the more I wrote, the easier it became. Interesting how my brain adapted and I had to think less about the shape of the letter. It actually was fun so I could see how da Vinci could adopt it as habit. 

Kelly: I was going to add color to my drawing of Van Gogh’s Sunflowers but then saw the quote of his in a letter to his brother… which is interesting because what draws me to his paintings is his use of color. (There are two ways of thinking about painting, how to do it and how not to do it. How to do it: with much drawing and little colour; How not to do it: with much colour and little drawing.) VG was right handed.

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

