Day 61 : knife fight

Ulu aka woman’s knife. An all-purpose knife traditionally used by Eskimo women to skin and clean animals, cut hair and food, trim snow and ice to make blocks for an igloo. The handle is made from antler, horn or tusks and can be used with the right or left hand.

61Ulu05

Sandy: When I use my left hand and it seems arduous, something happens in my brain, I get impatient and my right hand wants to take over. My right hand has actually taken the knife (fork, pencil, mouse) out of my left hand. My left hand will take it back. Weird!

Last night I chopped, with my left hand – zucchini, yellow squash, onions, red bell pepper and  sausages. I thought the knife felt dull but I think I couldn’t put enough pressure on the knife. I did feel more in control of the knife, though still cautious but less afraid of cutting my fingertips. I will attempt to use the ulu AmyT gave me. It’s really, really sharp!

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

