Day 60 : silver spoon

60chopsticks

Sandy: Not in our family. We had silver chopsticks. Well actually, my older sister had silver chopsticks – given to her as a baby gift. I coveted them. I let my parents know how meaningful it would be to their second daughter if she, too, had some. After twenty-some years, Second Daughter got her wish. They were so beautiful that I wore them in my hair – stuck them into a tightly wound bun on the back of my head. (A thought – I should carry them in my handbag to use instead of plastic utensils if the situation should arise to need them.)

A few nights ago we celebrated our friend’s birthday with take out Chinese food. I ate my entire meal with my left hand using chopsticks. I was surprised to see how well I controlled them. My left hand has gotten stronger and more coordinated than it was a month ago when I made the chopsticks demo. I tried not to think about what I was doing once I got the chopsticks comfortable in my hand. 

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

One response to “Day 60 : silver spoon

  • judi

    Impressive! I wonder if you were better using chopsticks with your “other” hand because you grew up with them so are very comfortable with the mechanics of using them.

Leave a Reply

