Day 47 : peppernuts

After writing the US states in cursive, our penmanship improved but I don’t think we would be getting any gold stars from our teacher if we were in Third grade.

47peppernut

Sandy: Here is my handwriting in Third grade. My classmate, Robert, loaned me his mom’s Peppernut recipe to copy. I never made them. Even in Third grade 5 lbs sugar and 4 lbs dark syrup seemed out of proportion to the other ingredients. Obviously having made a mistake, I was embarrassed to ask Robert for the recipe again. I’ve kept the recipe out of sentimentality because it reminds me how much I loved those peppernuts. The paper has browned, creases are brittle but the pencil lead is still legible. I’ve had them once since third grade when I found them in a coffee shop about 10 years ago. So yummy are these inch-round balls, and crunchy! Does anyone have a peppernut recipe?

Sandy’s year long journey – going from being a right-hander to left-hander, and Kelly’s parallel trip as a left-hander doing things as a right-hander.

Leave a Reply

